Our recent move to NC

A declining real estate market, job and income loss gave way to difficult decisions for my husband and me. During our 2 year path of uncertainty career changes were looming, we had to remain strong in faith to survive!

We would have never guessed our impending move would have led us to Asheville, NC. It actually was going to be a perfect fit, however it was going to take some time to realize the tremendously positive impact on our lives.

Moving is nothing new to us, as hubby is retired Air Force and we moved cross-country many times during those 24 years. However, this move was different as we are now empty-nesters with no instant connection to an area through schools, sports or theatre activities with the kids. Totally on our own and starting over! A bit scary!

As we were unpacking boxes, I set up my embroidery machine again. Almost instantly, I realized a part of me had been packed away for far too long. Creativity in sewing and embroidery is the very fiber of my soul. You see, I was born to sew! The re-discovery of such was pure joy.

But just imagine, we are now living in a beautiful, forward-thinking, artistic community surrounded by the Smokey Mountains! The amount of craft shows, from fundraiser shows to juried ones brings an amazing opportunity for artists, crafters and buyers!
Even the area mall has a complete store dedicated to sweatshop free products and showcases local artists and crafters work! Amazing! Could it be I am falling in love with Asheville and all the opportunities available?

Keep in mind this is all from the eyes of a newcomer. There are always pros and cons to anything in life….BUT I’m looking at the PROS and a bright, positive future! I’d like to challenge you to look at your bright future even when change is imminent.

About POPembroideryDesigns

Seamstress, Embroiderer, crafter, Military wife (retired), love family time and treasure dear friends
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Our recent move to NC

  1. Deborah says:

    What a wonderfully refreshing post to read. My family is military too, and after 8 years on the same post it appears we may be picking up and moving this year. I am excited and a bit nervous all at the same time. I am glad you seem to have found your niche in NC. And a big congrats on pulling out your machine and getting back to something you love!
    Deborah

  2. donnahuebsch says:

    Wow, POPembroidery, I could really relate to your post! We have been through a similar situation for the last 2+ years. Sounds like you have a wonderful adventure waiting ahead of you!

  3. Yes, I can also relate … being an empty-nester now and looking to the future contemplating where we want to end up! So happy NC is the perfect fit for you – I will be watching to see how life there is 🙂 Also happy you found your inner creative soul once again and a community that supports it……Wonderful!
    Debbie 🙂

  4. I have heard great things about Asheville. It is always on the potential destination list. Good luck in your new locale!

  5. Aditi says:

    Welcome to the blogging world. Hope to see more of your posts.
    Aha, so i see that you love to sew, Bravo!
    Creative minds always needs outlet, sew, paint, write and what not. May be i will get some tips from you, if one day i will start to knit a scarf ( though i don’t know yet if you know that ) but i am sure that you might having some idea about it ( i have zip knowledge of it)
    BTW i learned sewing when i was studying to be a Textile Engineer. 🙂

  6. Great read! We just moved here too, and love it. I was so surprised when I found that shop in the mall. It is encouraging for the artistic and creative, and the views are just beautiful. Love it here. We should meet sometime. 🙂

  7. Mary Helen says:

    What a wonderful way to start my day! It’s so refreshing how you’re writing about the “positives” of Asheville as your new home. Thumbs up to your husband supporting you and his suggestions! Looking forward to your next writing.

  8. Maybe I should move my empty nest to Asheville. Sounds nice.

Leave a Reply

